All Things Zombie by Lock N Load Publishing

Posted: June 3, 2013 in Games
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I have opened the first of many games that are awaiting review and that game is All Things Zombie from Lock N Load Publishing. Unboxing this game I was told by my wife I looked like a “kid in a candy shop”, clearly she has never seen me in a candy shop! I was very excited about this one the box alone looked like it had a lot of work put into it, great artwork and sturdy. Of course this meant I expected the same on the game pieces and board.

ATZ Inside the box was 90 large Zombie and Survivor counters, 88 smaller counters representing some loot items, wounds, searched tiles for buildings, etc. four back printed 11″ x 17″ maps, a 24 page rule book, survivor status cards, a players aid card and 6 dice. While I am still in the middle of game play I am confident I can give a fair review.

I started by analyzing the manual which at first was very confusing (to a new gamer) so I decided to set up the game and learn by playing. I would suggest this to any new player, it still takes a little time but once figuring it out its quite a fun game. That being said I still don’t know all “the rules” but I am catching on much quicker now that I have been playing with it.

This game can be played alone or with up to 6 friends. You can play against or versus your friends based on which game scenario you choose. There is a campaign with championship round and skirmish scenarios, the campaign is more structured in what items and survivors are played while the skirmish allows you to randomize and pick weapons and survivors based on a point system. While learning I would suggest playing with (your friends) instead of versus as the zombies that will ensue survivors are enough competition for a beginner. Solitaire play-ability 10/10 due to the scenario games.

For this game I would suggest to the publishers to add in a little more detail on the game board I would have expected to see more details like cars blocking roadways, fires blocking areas, etc. overall, you would not focus on these items but for a detail fanatic it does add to the realism. The game rules could be made simpler by adding some general information for new gamers The rule book is color and has some pictures, personally I thought one of the things they could add is picture demonstrations. I would also suggest to have placed the campaign scenarios on the same type of cards as the survivors status cards rather then in the rule book for easy reference.  Complexity scores a 6/10.

This game is quite entertaining and you can waste away the better part of an afternoon or evening playing this game so we think it has earned 3 clean diapers. Only for the lack of detail on the board map and complexity of the game rules it would have gotten a 5. Great work Lock N Load Publishing and game designers!

Click here to purchase All Things Zombie directly from Lock N Load Publishers.

Comments
  1. […] All Things Zombie by Lock N Load Publishing (dadsjustknow.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] All Things Zombie by Lock N Load Publishing (dadsjustknow.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

